Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /var/www/vhosts/tartan37.com/httpdocs/t37forum/common.php on line 88 Tartan37.com • View topic - Furnace Install - Part 1

Tartan37.com

Tartan 37 Owner's Forum - Ride the wind, but look good doing it!
The time is 29 Apr 2024 09:25

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Furnace Install - Part 1
PostPosted: 10 Feb 2013 15:03 
Skipper

I have been researching heating systems for a couple of years now, and finally bought a Webasto 3900 Air Top Evo forced air system. The decision to go with forced air over hydronic was primarily due to the high cost, electrical budget and additional complexity for the hydronic systems vs forced air. The decision to go with the Webasto system was forced on me by finding a new in-box system at the extremely low price of $450.00 from a truck/RV supplier getting out of the heating system business. This system retails on line for over $2,000.

The main downside of a forced air system is in the size of the ducting. I wanted to end up with a 90mm vent at the forward end of the salon, and a 60mm vent in both the v-berth and below the galley stove. This would mean a continuous run of 90mm duct with two 90mm x 60mm Ys, and two short runs of 60mm duct.

FInding space for a run of 90mm ducting is tough in our Tartan's. I elected to mount the furnace in the starboard lazarette, and run the ducting forward through the under-sink area, then behind the stove and refer just below the cabinets, through the storage compartments below the pilot berth and finally into the salon and vberth hanging lockers. Really, this is the only feasible route, and was really pretty easy except for the one tight pinch point at the forward corner of the refer, where there is only about 6" of space, where I already had refrigeration lines and propane line for the Cozy Cabin heater I have mounted in the salon (and will keep as redundant heat source).