Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /var/www/vhosts/tartan37.com/httpdocs/t37forum/common.php on line 88 Tartan37.com • View topic - Centerboard Maintenance ?

Tartan37.com

Tartan 37 Owner's Forum - Ride the wind, but look good doing it!
The time is 29 Mar 2024 02:03

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Centerboard Maintenance ?
PostPosted: 06 Nov 2022 09:14 
Tactictian

How much sideplay is normal between the board and centerboard trunk ? Is it supposed to be a sloppy fit or a tight fit ? I am noticing a slight clunking noise when the board is down at anchor. When pointing with the board down lateral pressure eliminates this. I have also used the board to steady the boat while on offshore trips just motoring. This spring while in the slings, I dropped the board to paint and when suspended, noticed there was what I would consider excessive side play, It seemed sloppy to me, but I'm not an expert. I have owned the 1984 T37 8 years and I think its time to replace the centerboard pin assembly. It has been replaced by a PO, but I have no idea when that was. I don't think the board is ready to fall out...but...

Funny, I have had a rock or shell up in the trunk all season and the board was stuck, didn't use it at all this year, had a great season.

Thanks in advance for any comments.

Hull #439

Last edited by Ex Hobie Sailor on 07 Nov 2022 06:05, edited 1 time in total

Profile Email  

Post subject: Re: Centerboard Maintenance ?
PostPosted: 06 Nov 2022 16:25 
Skipper

Mine has a fair amount of side-to-side play. It had the brackets replaced before I bought the boat (around 1998). I ASSUME it is normal!

Profile Email  

PostPosted: 07 Nov 2022 08:24 
Skipper

You may have some slop in the board hinge hole. You may not.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2080

Profile Email  

PostPosted: 10 Nov 2022 13:20 
Tactictian