Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /var/www/vhosts/tartan37.com/httpdocs/t37forum/common.php on line 88 Tartan37.com • View topic - CB thru-hull hose

Tartan37.com

Tartan 37 Owner's Forum - Ride the wind, but look good doing it!
The time is 28 Mar 2024 14:09

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: CB thru-hull hose
PostPosted: 08 Sep 2020 21:01 
Tactictian

I've been working on #240 for 2 months straight now. Naturally I've been finding a lot of issues, especially as I get into one project and it spins off into three or four others. I had yet to inspect the center board thru hull and made a point to do so today after speaking with a local rigger who told me that while replacing the pipe on a different t37 the hose disintegrated as he was removing the pennant pipe. He showed me the through hull fitting and the pipe itself which was heavily pitted and had pinholes. Additionally, the flange welded onto the pipe wasn't bad shape because of a sub-par stainless weld where overheating nearly melted the joint. After pulling the floorboard and looking carefully I noticed how rusty the forward hose clamps were. The hose itself has not been replaced in the 30 years my father-in-law has owned the boat! I decided to carefully remove one of the hose clamps and replace it. It was loose to begin with which tells me that the hose itself has degraded substantially. My question is am I playing Russian roulette by cruising this boat this fall? What precautions would folks take in this circumstance?

Attachments:
IMG_20200904_111852.jpg
IMG_20200904_111852.jpg [ 3.4 MB | Viewed 0 times ]
IMG_20200908_161114.jpg
IMG_20200908_161114.jpg [ 3.48 MB | Viewed 0 times ]

Profile Email  

Post subject: Re: CB thru-hull hose
PostPosted: 09 Sep 2020 05:10 
Skipper