Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /var/www/vhosts/tartan37.com/httpdocs/t37forum/common.php on line 88 Tartan37.com • View topic - Pointing with a T37 Keel/Centerboard

Tartan37.com

Tartan 37 Owner's Forum - Ride the wind, but look good doing it!
The time is 28 Mar 2024 17:43

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Pointing with a T37 Keel/Centerboard
PostPosted: 19 Apr 2009 12:01 
Midshipman

I used to race on friends's boats and we did quite well (and left my own boat for cruising with the family). I learned a lot of sailing tips that I used on my Islander 28 and with a fin keel, I was able to point with the C&C's and once horizoned a Cal 25 going directly upwind (I was solo and they had 5 crew members). But this is my first time with a centerboard and I cannot figure out how to make my T37 point the way I would like.. especially in light air. One thing I have tried, (having a vang but not a solid vang), is to pull the traveler car over to windward beyond mid-ship so that the boom is exactly mid-ship. It helps a little, but this boat comes no where near what I was used to. In fact on two occasions, I have rolled in the jib and motor sailed to the next port... and you're hearing from a guy who hates to motor. I do have extra jib tracks on top of the cabin but I had some problems with leaks when using them due, I imagine, to the force on the cabin top. And they are not really placed correctly for a 130 or larger. And I use tell-tails on my genoa and main to make sure they are trimmed well.

Any suggestions so that I can point better? Thanks.

T37 #315, Celtic Lady
Muskegon, MI

Profile Email  

Post subject: Re: Pointing with a T37 Keel/Centerboard
PostPosted: 20 Apr 2009 09:42 
Skipper